PyeongChang 2018 Logo
to go
hero image



Aggar named among best in rowing as 2017 Thomas Keller medal short list is announced

on 11-04-2017 10:30

The most prestigious medal awarded in rowing, the Thomas Keller Medal, has been narrowed down to six finalists by the World Rowing Federation, FISA.

The finalist list is dominated by two top rowing nations, Great Britain and the United States with a para-rower reaching the finals for the first time in the shape of ParalympicsGB legend Tom Aggar. Following public nominations, the finalists for the 2017 Thomas Keller Medal are (in alphabetical order):

  • Tom Aggar (GBR)
  • Caryn Davies (USA)
  • Katherine Grainger (GBR)
  • Eleanor Logan (USA)
  • Greg Searle (GBR)
  • Andrew T Hodge (GBR)

Created in 1990, the Thomas Keller Medal celebrates athletes who have had an outstanding career in rowing. It honours those who have shown exemplary sportsmanship and technical mastery of the sport as well as having shown a legendary aspect both in and outside of their rowing career.

Aggar is a legend of para-rowing. He first raced internationally in 2007 and instantly found success, beginning a winning streak that lasted for the next four years. This included Aggar winning gold in the para men’s single sculls at the 2008 Paralympic Games. This was the debut Games for para-rowing. Aggar continued through to the London 2012 Paralympic Games, but missed out on a medal. He persisted and came back to take bronze at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games before retiring.


Sign up to receive email updates on ParalympicsGB and find out how you can supercharge the team at the Paralympic Games.

Thank you for signing up!

Supercharge the team

Donate now Fundraise now